Society for Art Collection Debuts in Style; Seeks to Educate Collectors on Provenance, Rights

The month of June was momentous in Nigeria’s visual art history, as the Society for Art Collection (SARTCOL), a registered organisation committed to providing a platform for the exchange of ideas among collectors as well as promoting art appreciation, was formally inaugurated. The Society’s inaugural Governing Council Meeting held at its secretariat and was followed immediately by an Arts Immersion Evening.

SARTCOL, through systematic, knowledgeable and organised means, seeks to educate collectors on the intricacies of collecting art — provenance and rights of collectors, preserving sustainable collections, respecting the rights of artists, supporting and connecting them to prospective collectors of their works. As intricate as navigating the exclusive path of art collection is, the Society insists on providing the much needed platform for an “educated collection and promotion” of the arts.

Members of the Governing Council of the Society include, Dr Okey Anueyiagu (chairman of the Governing Council and founder of Dr Okey Anueyiagu Foundation), Ms Ngozi Edozien (founder and managing director of Invivo Partners Limited), Mr Adedotun Sulaiman (executive chairman of Arian Capital Limited), Mr Ibrahim Dikko (independent director on the board of Custodian Investments Plc), Mr Nero Asibelua (founder of Nero Asibelua Foundation, NAF), Mr Jess Castellote (director of the Foundation for Contemporary and Modern Visual Arts, FCMVA), Professor Fabian Ajogwu, SAN (Principal Partner of Kenna Partners and Lagos Business School Professor of Corporate Governance) and Mrs Ananya Kaul (Practice Oversight Consultant at KP Nominees), all people united by the singular purpose of furthering the cause of art and art collectors in Nigeria and beyond.

The well-attended event attracted Mr Ebenezer Onyeagwu, GMD Zenith Bank; Mr Gbenga Oyebode MFR, Director MTN; Ms Tokini Peterside, founder of Art X Lagos; Mrs Sandra Obiago of SMO and Ms Ugonma Adegoke of Bloom Art, both renowned curators; Mr Deji Alli, founder ARM Group; Mrs Folashade Alli; Ms Ngozi Edozien, director Guinness and Stanbic IBTC; Mrs Dundun Peterside; Mrs Ifeoma Utah, GM at MTN; Mrs Ndidi Nwuneli, founder LEAP Africa; and Mrs Ifeoma Ajogwu, chief executive officer DesignSpace. Others were Mr Neil Coventry, Mr Aditya Chellaram, Ms Nimma Jo-Madugu and Ms Megha Joshi.

The inauguration is the beginning of an interesting journey that will transcend time and barriers, altering economic and socio-cultural landscapes, bringing to light the true purpose of art and its collection (Hallowing Art Again): The propagation of life and living.